Call for Nominations

2020 NNVAWI Awards

At each conference, we acknowledge individuals who have demonstrated excellence in violence against women work with a series of awards. These awards will be presented at the NNVAWI conference in Malmo Sweden.  

We are now seeking nominations for 4 Excellence Awards in the areas of practice and policy, research, education and service to NNVAWI.

Please consider nominating your colleagues, acquaintances, friends – we want to celebrate the work of our members!!

Nominations are due February 15, 2020

awards resized

Excellence in Practice and Policy

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the development of effective health care for women and/or children who have experienced violence. These contributions could include leadership in developing and/or implementing new interventions or models of care, playing a key role in building support for such changes in an organization or sector, or advocating for the development of health care or other policies which improve the responsiveness and quality of care for women and children experiencing violence.

Excellence in Research

In recognition of sustained, outstanding contributions to research and/or evidence-based practice in the area of violence against women and children. The breadth, quality and impact of the research program will be considered.

Excellence in Education

In recognition of excellence and educational leadership related to curriculum development and health professional education in the area of violence and/or initiatives directed enhancing awareness of issues related to VAW with the public or community groups.  

Excellence in Service to NNVAWI

In recognition of substantial contributions and leadership in supporting the development, growth and positioning of the NNVAWI as an association.

How to nominate

Nominees must be a NNVAWI member in good standing, nominated by 2 people - one of these must be a current member of the association. A member may receive each of these awards only once. A list of past award recipients can be found here.

To nominate, you will need:

  • Details of the two nominators and your nominee (affiliation, email, etc)
  • An 800 word summary of the nominees most significant contributions in the area of the award
  • A biosketch of no more than 2 pages (optional)

For question about the process, please contract Marilyn Ford-Gilboe at

Nominations are due February 15, 2020 but earlier submissions are welcomed!!